Would these tragic events have happened if students or teachers were allowed to carry a weapon? We'll never know, but that policy might soon be a reality soon on college campuses across texas.
Some professors and students at U.T.P.B. are frightened at what would happen if a student who had a gun just lost it.
"I think some professors are going to worry some deal about grades and that kind of stuff," said Asst. Professor at U.T.P.B. Linda Autry. "Who's to say that some person that regularly is alright, stable and get's really horrible grade? I just think we're opening ourselves wide open to all kinds of situations."
Still, it's not easy to obtain a concealed weapons license. You have to be 21, go through a 10 hour course, pass an exam, pass a shooting test, background check, and pay more than $100 in fees.
The debate has many pro's and con's. Public colleges and universities in Utah already have a law allowing students to carry a concealed weapon to class. Colorado leaves it up to the school to determine if they will allow concealed weapons or not. Those states will serve as examples in the debate over this bill.